About us

The working group “Shalom –  For Justice and Peace”

Group picture 2019 (Photo: Christian Klenk)

Who we are

The AK Shalom for Justice and Peace was founded in 1981 and is a non-partisan and non-confessional working group at the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt.

The aim of the Shalom Working Group is to make a contribution to the protection of human rights and worldwide peace. Each year, the focus is on one country or one region. The highlight every year is the award of the Shalom Prize, one of the highest endowed human rights prizes in Germany.

The commitment and continuity of the working group are unique in Germany. In a small group currently three citizens of the city of Eichstätt and seven students and one pupil work together on an honorary basis. Former members often accompany the AK from a distance.

If you are interested in what we do, you are welcome to join us!

These are the last years´ award winners:

2018 Syrian Center for Media and Freedom of Expression

2017 Father Shay Cullen and PREDA from the Philippines

2016 PCFF in Israel and Palestine: Robi Damelin and Mazen Faraj

2015 Therese Mema Mapenzi from Justice et Paix -Centre d’Ecoute (DR of Kongo)

2014 ICON from the Philipines, award winner Lory Obal (Philippines)

2013 Padre Paulo Joanil da Silva from the Comissão Pastoral da Terra (Brasil)

2012 Bertha Cáceres Flores from COPINH (Civil Council of indigenous peoples of Honduras)

2011 Judith Maldonado and the collective “Luis Carlos Perez”(Colombia)

2010 Project SOLGIDI – Solidarity with Girls in Distress – Agnes Mailu (Kenya)

2008 Project Malinowka (Belarus) / Project Šance (Czech Republic)

2007 Project Bishop Joseph Coutts (Pakistan)

2006 Project Women and Development Project and Ark

2005 Project Abna Wadi al Nil (Egypt), Foundation Ghana

2004 Tadeo Nguyen Van Ly (Vietnam)

2003 CENIDH / Dr Vilma Nuñez (Nicaragua)

2002 „Open House“ (Israel/Palestine)

2001 Yusuf Akbulut and Isa Gülten (Turkey)

2000 Marguerite Barankitse (Burundi)

1999 Chris Hunter (Chechnia)

1998 Yanette Bautista (Colombia)

1997 ATPDH und AJAC (Tschad)

1996 Prof. Obiora Ike (Nigeria)

1995 People for Peace (Kenia)

1994 Cristo Vive – Sr. Karoline Mayer (Chile)

1993 Carmelita Santos (Guatemala)

1989 CIMI (Conselho Indigenista) Brasilien

1987 Padre Tomas Garcia (Guatemala)

1985 Bishop Revelo (El Salvador)

1984 Bishop Juan Gerardi Conedara (Guatemala)

1983 Lech Walesa (Poland), Sr. Verzosa (Philippines)

1982 Bishop Rivera y Damas (El Salvador)